The Importance of Being Earnest

January 2, 2010

Today I’m going to give you just some free floating ideas about weight loss in general.  I’d like to hear your impressions and thoughts on them in comments.   I would LIKE the comment section to become a place for those that read my blog to converse about what I’m writing.  Positivity and cheering are welcome, but I would really like the comments section to be more than just that.  I’d like it to become a dialogue between you and I.

So… Here goes:

  • Weight loss depends on more than just how much you eat.
  • It depends on more than how much you exercise.
  • Weight loss, to be truly ACCOMPLISHED, has to be something you want for yourself in your heart of hearts.
  • It depends on truly understanding yourself and your motivations and desires in life.
  • The path you take to weight loss is important.
  • Shortcuts DO NOT WORK LONG TERM.
  • Weight loss fads suck the life and the determination out of you.
  • Progress on the scale is important, but it’s not everything.
  • You MUST celebrate the little victories in day to day life or you will become discouraged.

Okay… Lemme hear what you have to say my friends!

5 Responses to “The Importance of Being Earnest”

  1. Sarah said

    I completely and totally agree with all of them 🙂

  2. Zengoddessjen said

    I wholeheartedly agree. Slow and steady wins the race, pills and fads while they may give short term gratification add the pounds plus some right back on.

  3. Dani said

    I agree and offer a few more additions – random thoughts about personal experiences and ones shared by friends (I have 2 friends who had gastric bypass as well as others who chose to do it thru food changes and exercise. NO judgment – everyone is entitled to their choices for their bodies. I personally have spent the better part of the last year losing a bunch of weight as well, thru modifications to my food and by steadily increasing my exercise)

    It is a personal journey and different for everyone. While 2 people may make a choice the same day to make changes and those 2 people may lose the same amounts of weight over the same amounts of time, they journeys will be similar but different.

    In addition to fads and shortcuts only causing more trouble in the end, you have to toss the word diet out of your vocabulary. That indicates something you do for x period of time – in order to be effective, in the short AND long term, this needs to be a change of lifestyle.

    And in connection to wanting it for yourself, at some point, you’re going to have to face your demons. I know some people have medical reasons for their weight but that’s not what I mean – I mean for the rest of us, who made a lifetime of poor food choices and didn’t move our bodies enough – there is a reason (or reasons) we got to that point. You can lose as much weight as you want but if you don’t let yourself go thru the process of addressing HOW you got there, and let yourself heal. despite the vacation from the weight and the best of intentions, the likelihood is you’re going to end up back at square one again.

    And finally, you may have to accept there are people in your life that are vested in you being a certain weight and they may be threatened by your decision to change. While it may hurt and you may be confused by their reactions (intentional or otherwise) you have to realize that’s THEM, not you. That YOU are entitled and deserve to make your own choices and do what you think is best for your body. Some of us are lucky and are surrounded by caring nurturing supportive people. Some of us end up feeling lonely and abandoned by the people we thought cared about us.

    Opps! Didnt mean to get so long winded on you 😉

  4. MissRiss said

    First, I need to tell you that I’m singing “I’m melting away” to the tune of Styx “I’m sailing away.” Now, with that out of the way… my biggest issue with weight loss is commitment to myself. It’s so much deeper than the fatty tissue that causes my butt to widen, etc. 🙂 Admitting it is half the battle, right?

  5. I agree completely! You are off to an excellent start and I know 2010 is going to be a fantastic year for you!

Leave a Reply

